The Way of the Cross

“But he was wounded for our iniquities, he was bruised for our sins: and by his bruises we are healed”

Isaiah 53, 3

The Stations of the Cross is a great Lenten devotion. At the Cathedral we will have Stations of the Cross at 5:45 PM every Friday. We invite you to join us in this traditional devotion that unites us more closely with the passion of Our Lord.

For the booklet please click here.

The Stations of the Cross are a fourteen-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The fourteen devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all fourteen are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of fourteen small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

A Plenary indulgence is grated to the faithful who make the pious exercise of the Way of the Cross. Those who are impeded can gain the same indulgence if they spend at least one half an hour in pious reading and meditation on the Passion and Death of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Enchiridion Indulgentiarum, no. 63

Related Post